A seaside edwardian hotel
set in the norfolk coastal town of cromer

HomeAccommodationDiningBolton's BistroSpeciality BreaksThings To DoAboutGalleryContactblog / NewsSpecial Offers
01263 512543
Cromer, Norfolk NR27 9AS
Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

Reviews

View independent Trip Advisor Reviews (over 480)

Excellent Food

Weybourne Bridge Club
January 9, 2018

On behalf of Weybourne Bridge Club, I would like to that you and your staff for catering for us so well. Everyone was very helpful and you accommodated us perfectly. The food was excellent and every member of our club I spoke to was very complimentary about the standards you achieved

Thanks

Sanders Coaches Limited
December 19, 2017

I would like to say a very big thank you for helping to make our Christmas Excursion so fantastic. Everyone said how good the food was and were very pleased that it was also piping hot which we know is not easy when serving 70+ people. The staff were all very helpful, happy and extremely professional in all that they did. So from us all at Sanders Coaches we thank you and wish you all a very happy Christmas.

Our 4 Night Stay

Mr Oldfield
September 30, 2017

Just a line to say how much we enjoyed our stay with you. Not least you seem to have been able to organise four days of very good weather. In the hotel, absolutely everyone was so keen to be helpful and friendly. And from those we never meet, the food was again excellent- as it always is! You have a good team and we are grateful to them all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Superb Hotel

Roger L
September 23, 2017

Outstanding service at this well appointed hotel. Spacious rooms overlooking the sea fully equipped for a comfortable holiday. All meals outstanding with a good range on the menu. Staff very helpful at all times.

Very Pleasant and Excellent Staff

Jond_UK
September 16, 2017

How anyone can rate this hotel as 'terrible' is totally beyond me. We stayed for three nights with dinner and breakfast included. It is a lovely Edwardian hotel, very close to the sea, the town and the pier which made for a convenient base in Cromer. The hotel is elegant and built in the 'Arts and Crafts' style which has been retained whilst incorporating the conveniences of a modern hotel. The sea view from our window was brilliant and the room was on the small side but just right for what we wanted. The staff were brilliant, very helpful, friendly and the service was first class and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We had to head out early on the Sunday morning so we asked if there could be an early breakfast expecting a bowl of cereal and a jug of milk. I was amazed that they gave us a wide choice of non-cooked food options which were delivered to our door with two bottles of milk, one semi-skimmed and one skimmed, for the cereal and the requisites for croissant eating too. Dinner was excellent with large portions of beautifully cooked food with desserts which would make you abandon a diet in a heartbeat. We loved our stay there, so much in fact we have booked to go back in December for another three night break.

Dinner

Lesley G
September 9, 2017

Sunday night & trying to find somewhere open for fresh crab & lobster was challenging. However we found the Cliftonville & were very glad we did. The building is charming & it's lovely to see it being lovingly restored & maintained. The main event the food was excellent with great service as well. We were determined to eat lobster & Cromer crab before returning home & here we got it cooked to perfection. Desserts were also very good with an excellent cheese board. If we are ever in Cromer again would definitely return.

Lovely, well postioned hotel and they got it right

Simon G
August 9, 2017

Not the cheapest in Cromer but it was high season so perhaps forgiveable. The hotel was charming, polite staff, nice clean rooms and the food was excellent and well priced (lobster one of the best I have had for years) breakfast excellent too. The position of the hotel was excellent too being just a short walk form the town and pier and all rooms had seaviews. Parking was included within the price as well. We enjoyed our two day stay and would return. Whilst part of the charm of the hotel, it was quirky and in part a little elderly, the car park for example was a bit rough, this does not bother us but others perhaps would feel this was below acceptable. Overall we certainly rate the hotel as good quality with good attentive staff and all facilities you would need.

Great location, great food, characterful

ClubFlyer320
July 28, 2017

The hotel is easy to find because of it's distinctive architecture and prominent location, Plenty of free parking to be found around the hotel. On entering the interior is beautifully looked after with lovely wood and stained glass. The bar and reception staff were polite and friendly, I really liked the snug area , the bar affords great seafront views. I had a comfortable single room with a sea view on the 3rd floor accessible by lift, the room was well appointed with Tea coffee and a functional bathroom albeit with a fixed shower that was slightly tricky as I'm a six footer. The bed was comfortable and runs along the window line, so great for ventilation and early morning peeks of the sunrise if you are awake. Iron and ironing board in corridor by lift I ate in Bolton's Bustro and the food and service were excellent, a pre or post dinner stroll along the seafront footpath is just great , and 5 mins walk into town. One small but tiny criticism are the plentiful large notices in the bathroom about the delicate plumbing, and the one about using the lift overnight at one's own risk - understandable if the alarm can't be heard, but the notices in both cases seem slightly officious However, having said that a great hotel with polite , accommodating and friendly, and the main restaurant where breakfast is taken was again beautifully preserved and breakfast was of a good quality. A lovely night spent in a lovely grand hotel. I'd book and stay again without hesitation.

Dinner for two

Ted E
July 22, 2017

Having had rather disappointing meals in a hotel in Mundesley we celebrated our last night of holiday at The Bistro in The Cliftonville Hotel. The staff were so attentive, efficient yet had time to be friendly. Our choices from an extensive menu were well presented and looked inviting. My crab starter was really fresh and the main course delicious. We even managed dessert as the strawberries looked great. Really impressed we came away with the brochure ready for our next visit

Wonderful

Libbo1210
July 21, 2017

Me and my husband stayed at the Cliftonville for our wedding anniversary. We had an amazing room with wonderful view of the sea. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was amazing, my husband had fresh Kippers which he really enjoyed. We also had an evening meal which was delicious. The Hotel is very close to all the shops, bars and resturants in Cromer and just across the road to the Sea, beach and beautiful coastal walk.