Designed by Augustus Frederick Scott in 1894, the Cliftonville Hotel was originally built for William Churchyard of Westbourne House, West Street, Cromer. The hotel was extended in 1898 under another architect (George John Skipper). In 1925 the hotel was owned by Albert Ernest Willins until 1932 – during World War II it was used for troop billets. The Cliftonville Hotel occupies a premier position on the North Norfolk Coast. All 30 en-suite bedrooms benefit from stunning views of the sea and town. Many of the original Edwardian features remain, including the ‘Gone with the Wind’ style staircase in the main lobby and beautiful stained glass windows and doors, as well as the classic Minstrels’ Gallery.
Now in the 21st century this Cromer hotel has introduced an all day coffee shop and bar with a wide selection of speciality teas and coffees, pastries and light meals. The hotel has 2 restaurants, Bolton’s Bistro which specialises in fresh fish dishes and the famous Cromer Crab, as well as offering a variety of meat and vegetarian options. The Bistro provides guests with a more relaxed and informal atmosphere in which to dine. There is also an a la carte restaurant, which offers a more formal dining experience.The menu offers a wide choice of Table d’Hote and a la carte options, plus stunning coastal views. The Ballroom Lounge (reserved exclusively for guests) is decorated with hand painted murals and provides an area of calm tranquillity at the end of a busy day.
THE CLIFTONVILLE HOTEL